W-JAX talk accepted: “Grails Plug-ins verwenden und selbst entwickeln”

My proposal for the W-JAX conference has been accepted: “Grails Plug-ins verwenden und selbst entwickeln” (something like “using and developing Grails plugins”). It was funny because I received the confirmation from the organizers one day after a friend told me that he had seen it on the conference’s web site (it was for a few weeks).

My original idea was to present ALL the plugins available on Grails’ plugin page. It would already have been difficult at the time I’ve submitted my proposal as ~60 plugins were available. Today, I’ve counted again: 90 plugins! I’ll have to make some hard choices and won’t definitely have time to present all.

2 Comments

  1. Ken Kousen said,

    August 25, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    Hi Marc,

    As it happens, I’m doing a very similar talk at a No Fluff, Just Stuff conference in the Boston area in September. Mine is called “Grails Plugins: A Free Library of Functionality,” so I’m facing almost the same problem you are. 🙂

    I’ve been building a trivial Grails app that acts as a survey where people can go to rate their favorites, but there are so many plugins I doubt people will be willing to dig through them to find the ones they like. Nevertheless, I’ll let you know when my survey is up and running.

    I’ll be very interested in hearing which plugins you decide to highlight. At the moment, I’m planning to go with RichUI, JSecurity (or Spring Security), Selenium, Canoo Web Test, Google Chart, Quartz, one of the Captchas, Searchable, Feeds, Mail, and maybe ImageTools. I’d like to go with Metro, too, if there’s time, but I don’t know if there will be. I seriously doubt there will even be time to illustrate the steps involved in creating a plugin, though I’d like to do that, too.

    Best of luck with yours!

  2. Marc Guillemot said,

    August 27, 2008 at 7:28 am

    I don’t know yet which ones I will highlight. Even if I won’t have time to present all, I really want to have a close look at all (!) I don’t yet know. From your list, I’ll surely take the WebTest plugin 😉 as well as I will remove the Selenium plugin: as long as it doesn’t use Selenium RC, I don’t consider it as serious.

    Even if the time will be short, I’ll have to take near half of the time to show how to build a plugin as it belongs to my session’s description.


Leave a Reply

